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SCRABBLE/Sam Orbaum 
 

TRICKY SITUATIONS 
 
“Three blanks?!”  It happens with infuriating frequency: both blanks are already 
played and a third shows up, leading to the discovery that one of the first two was 
in fact a lettered tile played upside-down, probably for a boatload of points.  
[Note: the introduction of pro-tiles has solved this problem.]  The perpetrator 
blanches, the victim turns an enraged shade of purple, and the club or 
tournament director is summoned.  What is the ruling? 
 
The published rules of the game do not deal with this or many other situations.   
Over the years, directors have learned through shared experience how to adjudge 
even the most obscure calls. 
 
Still, incidents arise that many leave the director at a loss for a ruling.  Yet he has 
to come up with a fair decision, and quickly. 
 
Perfect knowledge of the rules, combined with solid experience playing and 
adjudicating, enables a good director to interpret the rules and come up with an 
answer that is logical, wise and correct. 
 
How would you do as a director?  Mull over the following situations and compare 
your decisions with those of the experts. 
 

1. As described above, a third blank is drawn, showing one of the first two to 
be a lettered tile. 

2. A word is played backwards. 
3. Stuck with the Q at game’s end, a player realizes that the fourth U is 

missing from the bag.  He is robbed of a win by the fact that there is a 
letter missing. 

4. The last of the Ss is out and you play accordingly, but your opponent snaps 
up the opening with...a fifth S. 

5. You are playing alongside another game, and you suddenly realize you’ve 
been taking tiles from the wrong bag, and other players have been using 
yours. 

6. The board is upset and cannot be reconstructed.  Coincidentally, you were 
winning big when your opponent suffered that unfortunate spasm. 

7. JINXQUIZ is played, accompanied by an exultant: “I’ve always wanted to 
play this!  It’s the rarest word in the OSPD!”  The daunted victim, 
influenced by this ‘evidence,’ does not challenge this audacious phony.  
Later he cries foul.  Can the word or the game be annulled? 

8. You are a word judge, but apparently not a very good one.  You err on a 
challenge, disallowing a perfectly good word. 



9. It is a rainy Sunday.  Your aged grandmother suggests an afternoon of 
Scrabble.  You consent.  Your first word is ZORI.  “Hah!” she says, and 
promptly plays JEJUNAS/ZORIS, using two blanks (for the first J and the S).  
You glare at her.  You challenge both words.  She looks them up and finds 
that neither word is good. [Note: several dictionary changes later, ZORIS is 
now acceptable.]  Her next play, in the same spot, is JEJUNAL/ZORIL, 
changing one of the blanks from an S to an L.  Both words are now legal. 
You flip the board across the kitchen, claiming that she found these words 
in the process of looking up the previous play.  Who is in the wrong here? 

10. A player makes a three-letter word, but draws four tiles by mistake.  
Should the opponent take one from the four newly-drawn tiles, or from all 
eight tiles? 

11. ANRGIER is played, the points tallied up, and the clock is hit.  The player 
then notices he has transposed two of the letters and corrects the word to 
read ANGRIER.  Nevertheless, a challenge is issued.  Player no. 1 claims the 
challenger is nitpicking, as it was obvious what the word was intended to 
be.  [Situation updated for clock play.] 

12. STHENIA is played, with the S hooked to the end of ATHLETIC.  Both words 
are challenged.  STHENIA is good but surprisingly ATHLETICS is not in the 
printed Official Scrabble Players Dictionary (OSPD) although it is obviously a 
legal word.  Do you, as word judge, overrule the dictionary of authority? 

13. Player No. 1 plays a blank as a T, but later in the game Player No. 2 uses it as 
a D, and is immediately challenged.  He insists the blank was identified as a 
D.  Who is to be believed, and how is the challenge to be handled? 

14. On a congested part of the board, a player neatly fits in a few tiles to make 
a number of small words — but unwittingly has played tiles both 
horizontally and vertically.  The transgression is not noticed until a few 
turns later.  Does the play stand? 

 
The director decides: 
 

1. It is the responsibility of the players to verify that a blank is in fact blank on 
both sides.  Experienced players habitually flip over blanks played against 
them.  However, a turn is not official until the score is announced [Note: 
today, until the clock is hit].  Thus, if the error is detected before the turn is 
officially completed, the play may be reconsidered.  If it is detected after 
the clock is hit but before fresh tiles are drawn, the player loses his turn.  
(Once new tiles are drawn, the previous play is official and no appeal or 
challenge may be issued.) 

2. The word may be challenged off the board, but in rare instances it may be 
permissible.  The backward letters are looked up in the dictionary as, for 
example, BOX backwards (XOB).  Curiously, though, some words thus 
played (such as TIME, which read backwards is also a legitimate word 
EMIT), would cost the challenger a turn. 

3. Tough.  Both players are responsible for ensuring that all 100 tiles are in the 
bag before the game starts 



4. This situation arose in an Israeli tournament a couple of years ago, and 
remains a bone of contention between the players involved.  The tourney 
director adjudged that the condition was identical to that of Problem No. 
3, and the fifth S was allowed. 

5. This is a woeful situation, as it taints two games.  If the game is in its early 
stages, both games should be replayed with both bags of letters first 
sorted out.  Otherwise, the games should both be completed, even with 
the bizarre distribution. 

6. The scores should stand as they were at the time of the manmade 
earthquake.  This is a most difficult call to make, as it opens the door to 
cheating.  However I would be flexible with this rule if I detect that foul 
play might be at hand, having the game called a tie, or perhaps replayed. 

7. Neither the word nor the game can be annulled, but the sly boor should be 
severely admonished.  That’s a lowdown dirty trick. 

8. To err is human, to request a second opinion allowed.  If a recheck is not 
asked for, the erroneous word stays.  

9. The only rule to cite here is the unwritten rule of etiquette.  Shame on 
granny for not sharing information inadvertently gained, shame on her for 
using said information to her advantage, shame on you for trusting her to 
look it up.  Don’t ever play with her again. 

10. [Note: new rules since the column was written are these...  If the four new 
tiles have been placed on the player’s rack, the opponent chooses two tiles 
plus the overdrawn tile (three in all) from the eight on the rack, places 
them face up and then throws his or her choice of overdrawn tile back into 
the bag.  If the new tiles have not been mixed with those on the rack, the 
opponent makes his or her choice solely from these, turning over three 
(two plus the overdrawn) tiles and returning one to the bag.] 

11. Challenge ANRGIER.  This is not a case for gracious concession.  
Carelessness costs.  And besides, one of the weapons in a player’s armory 
is strange words that look wrong (STRONGYL, LONGEING, RAZEEING). 

12. The word judge never overrules the dictionary of authority, but a keen 
adjudicator would realize that ATHLETICS is a legal word even if it is not in 
the OSPD.  ATHLETICS is a noun plural, and not the plural of the adjective 
ATHLETIC (which is in the OSPD).   The OSPD includes all words with a root 
of two to eight letters.  For words with a longer root, such as the nine-
letter ATHLETICS, Webster’s Collegiate or any agreed-upon dictionary 
should be consulted.  [Today’s electronic Scrabble dictionaries have the 
longer words.] 

13. I have never had to handle this problem, but if called upon, I would identify 
the blank according to the player who played it, but would allow the 
second player to play again without missing a turn.  This may be a flawed 
call, but it is fairest to both sides.  [Note:  tournament play requires that 
players note in writing the letter represented by the blank.] 

14. The play stands.  If it had been detected between the time the score was 
announced [Note: today, the clock was hit] and fresh tiles drawn, the player 
would lose his turn.   This silly sort of situation recalls a sarcastic wisecrack 
preceding the 1981 North American championships, when a rule review 



elicited a lengthy debate among the world’s best players.  Putting the 
squabble in perspective, the inimitable Hymie Ripps piped up: “Yeah, but 
what if (while placing tiles to make a play) you miss the board?” 

 


